Press Release ● Shutdown
For Immediate Release: 
February 4, 2019
Contact Info: 
Mariel Saez 202-225-3130
WASHINGTON, DC – House Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer (MD) released a video of Democrats taking to the House Floor to speak about the consequences of the thirty-five-day Trump-McConnell shutdown on our economy and our people.  Joined by forty-six House Democrats – including Speaker Nancy Pelosi (CA-12), Whip James Clyburn (SC-06), Assistant Speaker Ben Ray Lujan (NM-03), and Caucus Vice-Chair Katherine Clark (MA-05) – Hoyer led a series of speeches about the impact of the shutdown in communities across America. 

On the House Floor, Members spoke about the 800,000 federal employees and their families who missed their paychecks, the threat of millions losing access to nutrition assistance, the danger to food safety and aviation safety, the millions of Americans who could not access government services, and how inappropriate it was for the President and Republicans to hold the country hostage in funding negotiations.  According to a report released by the nonpartisan Congressional Budget Office (CBO) last Monday, the shutdown that President Trump finally ended on January 25th cost our economy at least $11 billion in lost GDP. 
To watch the video, click here.  For a list of all forty-seven Members included in the video, see below:
House Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer (MD-05)
House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (CA-12)
Majority Whip James Clyburn (SC-06)
Assistant Speaker Ben Ray Lujan (NM-03)
Democratic Caucus Vice-Chair Katherine Clark (MA-05)
Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30)
Chairman Jim McGovern (MA-02)
Chairman Frank Pallone (NJ-06)
Chairwoman Maxine Waters (CA-43)
Rep. Pete Aguilar (CA-31)
Rep. Don Beyer (VA-08)
Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL)
Rep. Anthony Brown (MD-04)
Rep. Judy Chu (CA-27)
Rep. Gil Cisneros (CA-39)
Rep. Val Demings (FL-10)
Rep. Dwight Evans (PA-03)
Rep. Lois Frankel (FL-21)
Rep. Katie Hill (CA-25)
Rep. Kendra Horn (OK-05)
Rep. Steven Horsford (NV-04)
Rep. Chrissy Houlahan (PA-06)
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Rep. Daniel Kildee (MI-05)
Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-02)
Rep. Barbara Lee (CA-13)
Rep. Susie Lee (NV-03)
Rep. Carolyn Maloney (NY-12)
Rep. Doris Matsui (CA-06)
Rep. Lucy McBath (GA-06)
Rep. Betty McCollum (MN-04)
Rep. Ed Perlmutter (CO-07)
Rep. Chellie Pingree (ME-01)
Del. Stacey E. Plaskett (USVI-AL)
Rep. Jamie Raskin (MD-08)
Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-05)
Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL-09)
Rep. Terri Sewell (AL-07)
Rep. Abigail Spanberger (VA-07)
Rep. Haley Stevens (MI-11)
Rep. Donna Shalala (FL-27)
Rep. Darren Soto (FL-09)
Rep. Mark Takano (CA-14)
Rep. Paul Tonko (NY-20)
Rep. Lauren Underwood (IL-14)
Rep. Jennifer Wexton (VA-10)
Rep. Susan Wild (PA-07)