Press Release
For Immediate Release: 
August 31, 2020
Contact Info: 
Annaliese Davis 202-225-3130
Washington, DC - Today, House Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer (MD) announced the subcategory winners of the eleventh-annual 2020 Member Online All-Star Competition. The finalists were selected by the Majority Leader’s staff and shared on social media last week. The winners for Best Graphic, Best Video, and Best GIF were selected by the public on Leader Hoyer’s Facebook page. The winners of the Best Constituent Services Post, Best Franked Email, Best Online Ad, and Best E-newsletter were selected by a panel of Leadership staff. Leader Hoyer also released a new webpage to highlight all of the winners of the Member Online All-Star Competition over the eleven years of the competition

“I am so impressed by the creative and powerful ways our talented Members are utilizing social media to keep the American public informed about the vital work we are doing in the House of Representatives,” said Leader Hoyer. “I congratulate all of our winners and finalists and encourage all Members to continue prioritizing digital communications throughout the year.”

The primary awards for the 2020 Member Online All-Star Competition were announced in late July with Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14) taking both the Overall and Freshman MVP trophies after gaining an impressive 111,000 new followers over the 3-week competition. Collectively, House Democrats added over 700,000 new followers during the 3-week competition. 
NOTE: Members of Leadership from Caucus Vice Chair and up are ineligible for the awards. Former winners of each category are listed below and ineligible to win the same category a second time.

Best Graphic: Best GIF: Best Video: Constituent Services Online ads Franked email Enewsletter
  • WINNER: Rep. Lizzie Fletcher (TX-07) sends visually attractive emails filled with great graphics. 
  • Rep. Elaine Luria (VA-02) writes frequent, compelling emails that are focused on singular, timely issues as they arise. 
  • Rep. Debbie Dingell (MI-12) writes regular, personal, authentic notes to her constituents. 
  • Rep. Abigail Spanberger (VA-07) sends comprehensive yet concise emails, including lots of surveys to get feedback, all in a clean modern template. 
  • Rep. Derek Kilmer (WA-06) sends well-written, thorough emails to keep his constituents fully updated on the work he is doing on their behalf. 
Former Subcategory Winners
2019 Best Graphic: Rep. Joyce Beatty (OH-03); Best Video: Rep. Jimmy Gomez (CA-34); Best GIF: Rep. Jimmy Gomez (CA-34); Best Constituent Services Post: Rep. Lauren Underwood (IL-14); Best Franked Email: Rep. Lou Correa (CA-46); Best Online Ad: Rep. Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11); Best E-newsletter: Rep. Ben McAdams (UT-04)
2018 Best Video: Rep. Kathy Castor (FL-14), Best Graphic:
Rep. Jimmy Gomez (CA-34), Best GIF: Energy and Commerce Democrats
2017 Best Video: Reps. Jamie Raskin (MD-08) and John Delaney (MD-06), Best Graphic: Rep. Judy Chu (CA-27), Best Constituent Services Post: Rep. Adam Schiff (CA-28)
2016 Best Video: Rep. Mark Takano (CA-41), Best Graphic: Rep. Barbara Lee (CA-13), Best Constituent Services Post: Rep. Ami Bera (CA-7)
2015 Best Video: Rep. Mark Pocan (WI-2), Best Graphic: Rep. Ami Bera (CA-7), Best Constituent Services Post: Rep. Louise Slaughter (NY-15)